
           

 
 

State of New Jersey 
Department of Labor and Workforce Development 

Division of Wage and Hour Compliance  
PO Box 389 

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389  
Tel. (609) 292-9464          Fax (609) 633-8591 

 
Instructions for Completing the Application for Apparel Industry Registration 

 
The Apparel Registration Act (N.J.S.A. 34:6-144, et seq.) specifies that no manufacturer or contractor shall engage 
in the apparel industry in the State of New Jersey unless registered with the Department of Labor and Workforce 
Development.  The certificate is issued to both the company and the company’s responsible owners/officers.   
 
All applications must be accompanied by a check or money order made payable to the Commissioner of Labor and 

Workforce Development. We do not accept cash. Mail the application and check to the Division of Wage and Hour 
Compliance at the mailing address listed above.   
 
Type of Application and Certificate Number:  Check appropriate box for new or renewal registration.  If 
renewal, indicate current certificate number.  The annual registration period expires on January 14 of each year.  
The annual registration fee is $300 but may be prorated if registration period is six (6) months or less.  If applicable, 
please contact the Division for the prorated registration fees.   
 
Omnibus Registration:   This is optional.  Divisions, subsidiary corporations, or related companies with the same 
corporate structure engaged in the apparel industry may, at the option of the manufacturer or contractor, be named 
and included under one omnibus registration.   
 
Questions 1 – 10:   Answer all questions.  Failure to provide requested information will cause a delay in processing 
the application.  If the requested information is not subsequently provided, the application may be denied.   

 
1. Business Name - Type or print legibly the name of business.  This is the business name that will appear on 

the certificate of registration.     
 
2. Legal / Corporate Name – If different than item #1.  If the business entity is a sole proprietorship or 

partnership, enter name of owner or partners.   
 
3. Street Address – Enter the street address where employees will be working.  The Certificate of 

Registration must be posted at the workplace.     
  
4. Mailing Address - If different than item #3.  This is the address to which notices and the Apparel Industry 

Certificate of Registration will be mailed.   
 
5. Telephone Number, Fax Number, and Email  
 
6. FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Number) – This is the business’s taxpayer identification number.  

Any business that has employees and/or pays any kind of taxes must have a FEIN.   
 

If business entity is a sole proprietorship with no employees and does not have an assigned FEIN from the 
IRS, enter the owner’s SSN.  Please indicate on application that you are providing a SSN.   

 
7a. Type of Business – Check off the type of ownership.  Enter the state of incorporation.  Enter the date the 

business was started or incorporated.  Enter the greatest number of workers in the past 12 months and 
during which month.   

 
7b. Manufacturer or Contractor – Check the most applicable.  Use the definition of “contractor” or 

“manufacturer’ as defined on reverse to guide your response.  Describe the nature of business.    
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8. Workers’ Compensation Coverage – All businesses that operate in New Jersey must have workers’ 

compensation insurance.  The expiration date must be at least 30 calendar days from date of application. 
Sole proprietors, partnerships and LLCs with no workers’ compensation coverage and no employees may 
complete the certified statement in item #8.   

 
9. Responsible Owners/Officers – List each individual with a financial interest in the business – except that 

if the business is a publicly traded corporation – the corporation’s officers.      
 
10. Subcontractors – List the names and addresses of all manufacturers, contractors, subcontractors, and 

jobbers located in the United States with whom you currently contract work in the apparel and/or 
embroidery industries.   

 
Applicant Statement:  Review the Applicant Statement, sign and date the Statement, and print the name and title 
of the person signing the Statement.     
 

*** Please keep a copy of your application for your records. *** 
 

Check your apparel registration status online at www.nj.gov/labor  
(click on Wage & Hour then Registration & Permits). 

 
 

NOTICE 
 

CHAPTER 210 – APPAREL INDUSTRY REGISTRATION 
 
SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISION 
 
12:210-1.1  Purpose and Scope 
 

(a) The purpose of this subchapter is to establish a registration system which requires apparel industry manufacturers 
and contractors to register with the Department as a condition of doing business in the State. 

 
(b) This subchapter is applicable to all apparel industry manufacturers and contractors who conduct business within 

the State of New Jersey. 
 
12:210-1.2  Definitions 

 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise. 
 

"Apparel industry" means the making, cutting, sewing, finishing, assembling, pressing or otherwise producing of 
apparel, designed or intended to be worn by any individual and sold or offered for sale for that purpose, but does not include 
cleaning, pressing or tailoring services performed upon apparel sold or offered for sale at retail. 

 
"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development. 
 
"Contractor" means any person who contracts to perform in this State the cutting, sewing, finishing, assembling, 

pressing or otherwise producing of any apparel, or a section of component of apparel, designed or intended to be worn by any 
individual and sold or offered for sale, except at retail, for that purpose. "Contractor'' shall include, but not be limited to, a 
subcontractor, jobber or wholesaler, but shall not include a production employee employed for wages who does not employ 
others. 

 
"Department" means the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. 
 
"Manufacturer" means any person who contracts with a contractor to perform in this State the cutting, sewing, 

finishing, assembling, pressing or producing of any apparel, or a section or component of apparel, designed or intended to be 
worn by any individual and sold or offered for sale, except at retail, for that purpose, or who cuts, sews, finishes, assembles, 
presses or otherwise produces in this State any apparel, or a section or component of apparel, designed or intended to be worn 
by any individual and sold or offered for sale, except at retail, for that purpose. "Manufacturer'' shall not include a production 
employee employed for wages who does not employ others. 

http://www.nj.gov/labor


STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
Department of Labor and Workforce Development 

Division of Wage and Hour Compliance 
PO Box 389 

Trenton, NJ 08625-0389 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR APPAREL INDUSTRY CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION 
 

Chapter 458, P.L. 1987: The Apparel Registration Act specifies that no manufacturer or contractor shall engage 
 in the apparel industry unless registered with the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. 

 

 Current Certificate No. __________________________ 
 
  

All applications must be accompanied by a check or money order 
made payable to the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce 
Development.  We do not accept cash. 
 

Return completed application and fee to the address listed above.  
 

*** Annual registration expires on January 14 of each year. *** 
 

        New Application - $300 
 

         Renewal - $300 

 

OMNIBUS REGISTRATION (if applicable)*  
 

Co. Name   
 

Co. Address   
 

 
 

* Any division, subsidiary corporation, or related company with the 

 same corporate structure engaged in the apparel industry may be  

 named and included under one omnibus registration. 
 

  
1. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Business Name  
 

2. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Legal / Corporate Name  (If business entity is a sole proprietorship or partnership, enter name of owner or partners.) 
 
3. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Street Address  (where employees will be working)  City  State ZIP Code County 
 
4. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Mailing Address (Mailing address to which notices and the Apparel Industry Certificate of Registration will be mailed.)  
 
5. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Telephone No. Fax No. Email  
 
6. FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Number): * _____    _____          _____    _____    _____    _____    _____    _____    _____ 
  
   *  Any business that has employees and/or pays any kind of taxes must have a FEIN.  If you are a sole proprietorship with no employees and 

 do not have an assigned FEIN from the IRS, you may provide your SSN; if so please indicate you are providing your SSN.   
 
 

7a. Type of Business:  Individual /Sole Proprietor Partnership  NJ Corporation Out-of-State Corporation 
 
  LLC (Limited Liability Company)   LLP (Limited Liability Partnership)    Other ___________ State of Incorporation  _____________  
 
 Date of Incorporation/Formation _______________   Greatest no. of workers in the past 12 months was ______ during the month of  __________ 
 
 

7b.  Check most applicable:  Manufacturer OR Contractor  
 

 Garments     Components  Garments     Components 
 
 Nature of Business – Type of  Garment or Components: _________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

8. Workers’ Compensation Carrier Name: *  ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

  Expiration date must be at least 
 Policy No.: ___________________________________  Effective _____/_____/_______  To  _____/_____/_______ 30 calendar days from today. 
 

 * IF you are a sole proprietorship, partnership or limited liability company (LLC) with NO workers’ compensation coverage and NO employees  

  (excluding the principal owner, partners or members of the LLC), you must complete the below certified statement. 
 

  I certify that I am a sole proprietor, partnership or LLC with no workers’ compensation coverage and I have no employees.   
 
 _____________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ______________ 

 Signature   Print Name and Title  Date 
 
 
 
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:   UI/DI  _______       Employer Master _______       Subcontractor Lookup _______       Apparel Screen _______       Violations _______  
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FOR OFFICE USE ONLY: 
 
Log #  ______________________________ 
 
Check #   ____________________________  
 
Check Amount $  _____________________  
 
 
 



 

 
 

9. Responsible Owners/Officers: Provide the following information for the owners, partners, managing members (for LCC companies only), or 
corporate officers of the business.  Attach additional sheets if necessary.  

 

 NOTE: The names and the titles of the individual owners, partners, or responsible corporate officers will be listed on the certificate.     
 

a. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  First Name Last Name  Title    

 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Social Security No.   % of financial ownership in business (if zero, so state)  Telephone No. 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Home Address City State ZIP Code 
 

b.   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  First Name Last Name  Title    

 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Social Security No.   % of financial ownership in business (if zero, so state) Telephone No. 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Home Address City State ZIP Code 
 
c.   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

  First Name Last Name  Title    
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Social Security No.   % of financial ownership in business (if zero, so state) Telephone No. 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Home Address City State ZIP Code 

 
 

10.  List the names and addresses of all manufacturers, contractors, subcontractors, and jobbers located in the United States with whom you currently 
contract work in the apparel and/or embroidery industries.  Attach additional sheets if necessary.   

 If NONE, please check this box:  NONE 
 

a. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name   Telephone No.    

  
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Street Address City State ZIP Code 
 
b.   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Name Telephone No.      
  
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Street Address City State ZIP Code 
 

c.   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name Telephone No.   

 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Street  Address City State ZIP Code 
 

 
APPLICANT STATEMENT 

 

I understand that the apparel registration for which the employer is applying is issued to a manufacturer or contractor as defined in Chapter 458 of the 
New Jersey State Labor Law.  I understand that Chapter 458 requires that the registrant makes the required records available to a representative of the 
Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development at its’ place of business upon request and that it must cooperate with any investigation to 
determine compliance with the provisions of the labor law.  Giving false information on this application may violate the labor law and the penal law 
and may result in civil and criminal penalties.   

 

In accordance with the New Jersey Child Support Improvement Act, N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.44d, by signing this application I am hereby certifying that I do 
not have a child support obligation or I have such an obligation but the arrearage amount does not equal or exceed the amount of the child support 
payable for six months and any court-ordered health coverage has been provided for the past six months.  Furthermore, I certify that I have not failed to 
respond to a subpoena relating to a paternity or child support proceeding or I am not the subject of a child support related warrant.  I understand that 
making a false statement may subject my apparel industry registration certificate to immediate revocation or suspension.  
 

An employer is subject to provision of Chapter 458, P.L. 1987 New Jersey Law, including those requiring payment of at least the applicable New 
Jersey State minimum wage; timely payment of wages without deductions except those authorized by law, such as social security or income tax; 
accurate payroll records showing the number of hours worked daily and weekly, the amount of gross wages, net wages and deductions; and wage 
statements with each payment of wages.   
 

I certify that to the best of my knowledge the information given in response to each question is accurate, true, and complete.  
 

_______________________________________________________________ _____________________________ 
Signature Date 

 

_______________________________________________________________ 
Print Name and Title  
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