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- News Release - 
NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
 

Maximum Benefit Rates and Taxable Wage Base Changes 

TRENTON, December 30, 2015 – The state Department of Labor and Workforce 
Development today announced the annual changes to the maximum benefit rates and 
taxable wage base that will take place in 2016 for New Jersey’s Unemployment Insurance, 
Temporary Disability Insurance, Family Leave Insurance and Workers’ Compensation 
programs.  
 
According to laws governing these programs, the maximum benefit rates and the taxable 
wage base must be recalculated each year, based on the statewide average weekly 
wage.  The benefit rates and taxable wage base for 2016 reflect the $1,161.04 average 
weekly wage for 2014, which rose by 1.8 percent from $1,140.02 in 2013. 
 
Effective January 1, 2016, the maximum weekly benefit amount for eligible unemployment 
insurance claimants will increase from $646 to $657. The maximum weekly benefit for state 
plan temporary disability insurance and family leave insurance claims will increase from 
$604 to $615, while the maximum weekly benefit for workers’ compensation will rise from 
$855 to $871. 
 
The level of wages subject to wage taxes in 2016 will increase to $32,600 under the 
unemployment, temporary disability and family leave insurance programs; as well as the 
Workforce Development Partnership Program; and Supplemental Workforce Fund for Basic 
Skills; the taxable wage base in 2015 was $32,000. 
 
The benefit eligibility criteria in New Jersey will increase in 2016. 
 
Benefit eligibility criteria for any given year are based on the state minimum hourly wage 
that was in effect as of October 1 the prior year. Therefore, the benefit eligibility criteria for 



2016 is based on the minimum hourly wage of $8.38 that was in effect as of October 1, 
2015. The benefit eligibility criteria for 2016 are being increased because there was an 
increase in the state’s minimum hourly wage from the 2014 rate of $8.25 to $8.38 as of Jan. 
1, 2015. 
 
NOTE: There will be no increase in New Jersey’s minimum hourly wage in 2016. It will 
remain $8.38. The minimum hourly wage, by law, is tied to increases in the Consumer Price 
Index (CPI). For more information go to: 
http://lwd.state.nj.us/labor/forms_pdfs/lwdhome/MinWage.pdf  
 
The amount of weekly earnings required to establish a base week in order to be eligible for 
unemployment, temporary disability, or family leave benefits under regular criteria will 
increase from $165 to $168 in 2016. The amount of earnings required in cases in which a 
claimant has not worked 20 base weeks will rise from $8,300 to $8,400. 
 
The contribution rate for state and local government entities that choose to make 
contributions, rather than reimbursing the trust fund for unemployment insurance benefits 
paid to their former employees, will remain at 0.7 percent of taxable wages during calendar 
year 2016. 
 
Below is a chart showing the 2015 rates and the changes taking place January 1, 2016: 
 
MAXIMUM BENEFIT RATES AND ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA 

 
 
 
 
 

                                                                                                     

 

 2015 2016 

Maximum Unemployment Insurance Weekly Benefit Amount $646 $657 

Maximum Temporary Disability Insurance and 
Maximum Family Leave Insurance Weekly Benefit Amount 

$604 $615 

Maximum Worker’s Compensation Weekly Benefit Amount $855 $871 

Taxable Wage Base $32,000 $32,600 

Base Week Amount $165 $168 

Alternative Earnings Amount $8,300 $8,400 

Governmental Entities Contribution Rate 0.7% 0.7% 


